Differential Block

Differential Block refers to the gradual and sequential block of the different type of nerve fibres when they are exposed to a local anesthetic.

Small diameter axons are more susceptible to block than large diameter fibers, however myelinated fibers are more sensitive than non myelinated.

This is because local anesthetics block the fiber at node of Ranvier. Blockage of minimal length that is at least 3 successive nodes of Ranvier is required to produce inhibition of nerve conduction.

Based on fiber diameter the nerve fibers are classified as type A, B and C. A being the thickest and C the thinnest.

Differential BlockDifferential Block depends on concentration of the local anesthetic. A drug at lower concentration will produce only sensory block while at higher concentration can produce motor block.

The nerve fiber type also has a significant effect on the local anesthetic. It can be concluded that the factors which determine the sensitivity of nerve fibres to local anesthetics are fiber diameter and myelination therefore type B fibres (myelinated) are more readily blocked than type C (non myelinated) in spite of being of thinner diameter than B.

Sequence of Differential Block

The sequence of Differential Block is type B – type C – type A and in functional terms it is autonomic (mediated by C and B fibres) — sensory (mediated by C and also A fibres) — motor and the sequence of recovery is motor — sensory — autonomic. Among sensory fibres sequence of blockade is temperature (cold before hot) — pain — touch — deep pressure — proprioception.

This blockade of different types of fibers is called as Differential Block.

For more answers to more questions like this Ask a Doctor.

One Response

  1. surendra December 21, 2016

Add Comment